Small bore engine

Pridanc

Hey everyone. Relatively new here and some friends and I are on a project to build a very small bore hot-rod motorbike.

We have lots of turbo experience but really want to explore an e-blower of some sort. Our only concern (aka lack of knowledge) is driving a centrifugal compressor at enough rpm to make the boost we feel we need for the duration of a run. We will need boost for between 2.5-3 minutes.

And to carry that thought farther, is there any merit to running a very small screw type compressor via electric motor? IE, would that take potentially less power from the e motor and battery capacity to drive and achieve the boost needed or am I barking up a tree? Remember small engines like this have small CFM needs.

Can you tell I have zero knowledge or understanding of electricity? Once I gather the info we can decide to go standard turbo or e-blower. The turbo is easy which might outweigh all the other reasons to use something else, but until I know more about e-blowers I'm not choosing just yet!

Huge thanks in advance.

First, found your needs. What power you want to make on your specific engine and how much boost you will need. When you found this, try to find your compressor you want! Centrifugal or screw. When you found your compressor, check for how much RPM you will need for that! Now then, we can discuss on which set up you will need!
In the world of e-boost, we are verry limited by the RPM we can run a set-up. It was the main problem for years until Alex and I were about the same time able to make it happen.
Since you have a small engine it should be easier to find a combo for you. The complicated part I think is to find the right compressor to fit with the electric motor combo
I think I was able to achieved the highest RPM with 65k rpm. I am hoping for little bit more this summer but keep in mind that is about the highest you can go.